A Musical Invitation: Celebration of the Life of Taffy Glasner

 

Friday, the 13th of June, 2008

Good Afternoon! For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Taffy’s niece, Anne.

I’m very grateful, that for the last 2 months, I’ve had the opportunity to stay with Taffy and Lanie, with the idea, as Taf would put it, of “making myself useful”. Mostly, I gave myself the task of making sure Taffy ate, and ate well. So she did, and generally, I made myself useful.

On evening, after dinner, as Taffy was coasting off to sleep, she asked me, simply:

“So where do YOU think I’m going?”

I thought for a minute, and said, “Do you remember those Madeleine L’Engle books, A Wrinkle in Time, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and all those? Remember how in her book, Many Waters, the twins move in and out of dimensions that are part of their Pattern? In other books, she calls that Pattern a Spiral, but now I’m thinking of it as a Harmony, a Chord, or even a Motif. Taf, “ I said, “I think you already ‘go there’ all of the time, in the dimensions that are part of your Pattern, your Spiral, your Harmony. You do it when you sleep, you do it when you sing, and you do it when you play piano. You do it every time you visit the music you love. Your Pattern, your Spiral, your Harmony, is revealed by what you LOVE.”

And, in her usual way, she said, “Well, that sounds reasonable.” And she drifted off to sleep.

So my invitation to you today, is to visit with Taffy in her dimension, but HERE, in all of this music that she LOVED. I invite you to know her fully: from the sacred, formal, intricate harmonies of Bach, to passionate love songs, to inventive compositions of young minds, and to the sounds of Pan pipes, at first pastoral, but finally, of another world.

About VagabondAnne

Find @VagabondAnne on Twitter...
This entry was posted in Personal Celebrities and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

